## 1 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES - FLOOR VERSION 2 STATE OF OKLAHOMA 1st Session of the 59th Legislature (2023) 3 COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE 4 FOR 5 HOUSE BILL NO. 2263 By: Sterling, Fugate, and Menz 6 7 8 COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE 9 An Act relating to the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority; amending 69 O.S. 2021, Section 1703, which relates to 10 the creation of the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority; modifying membership of the Authority; modifying term length; modifying actions regarding removal of 11 appointive members; requiring full membership to perform duties; prohibiting members from 12 participating in certain votes; and providing an 1.3 effective date. 14 15 16 BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA: 17 SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 69 O.S. 2021, Section 1703, is 18 amended to read as follows: 19 Section 1703. A. There is hereby created a body corporate and 20 politic to be known as the "Oklahoma Turnpike Authority" and by that 21 name the Authority may sue and be sued, and plead and be impleaded. 22 The Authority is hereby constituted an instrumentality of the state, 23 and the exercise by the Authority of the powers conferred by this 24 act in the construction, operation, and maintenance of turnpike

- projects shall be deemed and held to be an essential governmental function of the state with all the attributes thereof. Provided, however, the Turnpike Authority is authorized to carry and shall carry liability insurance to the same extent and in the same manner as the Transportation Commission, and in addition thereto it shall be subject to the workers' compensation laws of the state the same as a private construction project.
- The Oklahoma Turnpike Authority shall consist of the 8 9 Governor, who shall be a member ex officio, and six (6) members to 10 be appointed by the Governor, by and with the consent of the two (2) 11 members to be appointed by the Governor, two (2) members to be 12 appointed by the Speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives, 13 and two (2) members to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of 14 the Oklahoma State Senate. The appointive members shall be 15 residents of the state, and shall have been qualified electors 16 therein for a period of at least one (1) year next preceding their 17 appointment. One appointive member shall be appointed from each of 18 six districts of the state, such districts to include the area as 19 follows:
  - District 1. Oklahoma, Canadian, Cleveland, McClain and Garvin Counties.
- District 2. Washington, Nowata, Craig, Ottawa, Rogers, Mayes,
  Delaware, Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Okmulgee, Osage, Muskogee,
  Sequoyah, McIntosh and Haskell Counties.

20

District 3. Coal, Logan, Payne, Lincoln, Creek, Okfuskee,
Pottawatomie, Seminole, Hughes and Pontotoc Counties.

District 4. Kay, Pawnee, Garfield, Noble, Tulsa, Woods, Woodward, Major, Alfalfa and Grant Counties.

District 5. Cimarron, Grady, Texas, Beaver, Harper, Ellis, Roger Mills, Dewey, Custer, Caddo, Washita, Beckham, Harmon, Stephens, Jefferson, Greer, Kiowa, Jackson, Tillman, Comanche, Cotton, Kingfisher and Blaine Counties.

District 6. Carter, Love, Murray, Johnston, Marshall, Atoka, Bryan, Pittsburg, Latimer, Le Flore, Pushmataha, Choctaw and McCurtain Counties.

The members of the Authority appointed shall continue in office for terms expiring as follows: District 1, July 1, 1968; District 2, July 1, 1971; District 3, July 1, 1972; District 4, July 1, 1973; District 5, July 1, 1974; District 6, July 1, 1975. Provided, that appointive The Governor shall appoint the members from Districts 1 and 2. The Speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives shall appoint the members from Districts 3 and 4. The President Pro

Tempore of the Oklahoma State Senate shall appoint the members from Districts 5 and 6. Appointive members serving on the Oklahoma

Turnpike Authority created by 69 O.S. 1961, Section 653, when this act becomes on the effective date of this act shall continue to serve as members of the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority created by this section, for the remainder of the original terms for which they were

authority for their District. The successor of Thereafter, each appointive member shall be appointed in the manner set forth by this Section for a term of eight (8) six (6) years, except that any person appointed to fill a vacancy shall be appointed to serve only for the unexpired term, and a member of the Authority shall be eligible for reappointment. Each appointed member of the Authority before entering upon the duties of office shall take an oath as provided by Section 1 of Article XV of the Constitution of the State of Oklahoma. Any appointive member of the Authority may be removed by the Governor at any time with or without cause by the appointing authority.

- C. The Authority shall elect one of the appointed members as chairperson and another as vice-chairperson, and shall also elect a Secretary and Treasurer. A majority of the members of the Authority shall constitute a quorum and the vote of a majority of the members shall be necessary for any action taken by the Authority. No  $\underline{A}$  vacancy in the membership of the Authority shall impair the right of a quorum to exercise all the rights and perform all the duties of the Authority.
- D. Appointed members of the Authority shall be prohibited from voting on any issue in which the member has a direct financial interest.

1.3

D. E. Before the issuance of any turnpike revenue bonds under the provisions of this act, each appointed member of the Authority shall execute a surety bond in the penal sum of Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000.00) and the secretary and treasurer shall execute a surety bond in the penal sum of One Hundred Thousand Dollars (\$100,000.00), each such surety bond to be conditioned upon the faithful performance of the duties of the office, to be executed by a surety company authorized to transact business in the State of Oklahoma as surety and to be approved by the Governor and filed in the office of the Secretary of State.

E. F. The members of the Authority shall not be entitled to compensation for their services, but each member shall be reimbursed for actual expenses necessarily incurred in the performance of the duties of such member. All expenses incurred in carrying out the provisions of this act shall be payable solely from funds provided under the authority of this act and no liability or obligation shall be incurred by the Authority hereunder beyond the extent to which monies shall have been provided under the authority of this act.

F. G. Whenever the terms "Oklahoma Transportation Authority",
"Transportation Authority" or "Authority", when used in reference to
the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority, appear in the Oklahoma Statutes,
such terms shall mean the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority.

1	SECTION 2. This act shall become effective November 1, 2023.
2	
3	COMMITTEE REPORT BY: COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION, dated 02/15/2023 - DO PASS, As Amended and Coauthored.
4	DO FASS, AS AMERICEG AND COAUCHOTEG.
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	

HB2263 HFLR BOLD FACE denotes Committee Amendments.